Is it ok to practice Yoga as a Christian?

What is all this fuss over Yoga and why are some people saying it is not biblical? Come on guys, its just relaxation, right?  Wrong!

Please hold on there… let me explain because everything I am about to reveal is true.  Did you know that Yoga is a component of Hinduism?  It is right out of the Hindu faith and has been brought to the west and now practised by people thinking it is a harmless set of relaxation exercises.  

Many practitioners claim the more they engage Yoga the better they will feel.  For the hindu, Yoga is a method to work out their Karma and discover their own God hood or inner enlightenment.   The practice requires different poses which as named after Hindu gods which is in fact a method of invocation, that’s right, the worshipping of false gods.  “You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God” – Exodus 20:4-5a (NIV).

Yoga actually means ‘union’ and follows the theory that everything is divine, this means that everything is god.  The goal is to reach union with Brahman or sometimes referred to in occult/new age circles as the ‘higher self’.  The combination of postures, poses and breathing exercises is preparation of the body to engage an occult power known as Kundalini, the serpent fire.  This power travels up the spine of the practitioner through spiritual points of the body known in Hinduism/new age as Chakra’s.  The unwitting victim believes that when kundalini reaches the crown Chakra (an imaginary point just above the head) they will reach union and achieve enlightenment.  This opens up the victim for spiritual attack and even possession.  Here are some common side effects after experiencing kundalini.

Category Symptoms
Sensory and motor symptoms the feeling of cranial pressures
the perception of inner sounds
experiences of inner lights
vibrating or tickling sensations in the lower back
tachycardia (rapid heart rate)
changes in breathing
spontaneous bodily movements
sensations of heat or cold moving through the body
localised bodily pain that starts and stops abruptly
vibrations and itching under the skin
unusual, or intense, sexual sensations
Mental and affective symptoms fear
anxiety
depersonalisation
intense positive or negative emotions
spontaneous slowing or speeding of thoughts
spontaneous trance states
experiencing oneself as larger than the physical body
experiences of paranormal consciousness

Still, don’t take my word for it, Let’s hear it from an expert.  Gopi Krishna, founder of one of the many kundalini research centers, records his own experience, “It was variable for many years, painful, obsessive, even fantasmic. I have passed through almost all the stages of different mediumistic, psychotic, and other types of mind; for some time I was hovering between sanity and insanity.”

In Matt 6:24 we are told that no man can serve two masters.  So even if you just do Yoga for the physical benefits you are at risk of engaging demonic spirits through this alternative false spiritual practice.  Deut 18:10-12 says “Let no one be found among you who sacrifices his son or daughter in the fire, who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead.  Anyone who does these things is detestable to the Lord…” .  

Please take a look at this video, a former Yogi now Christian.

About Gaz Parker

I was born with the ability to see spirit entities. I learned to ignore them for most of my life but during 2004 I had a kind of spiritual awakening so i thought. For years I questioned it until I asked God to show me what this is. God showed me the truth and I realised these spirits are evil, they are demons. Jesus never left me, he love me and he loves you too. My audio testimony can be found here. Contact me here: newagedeception@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is it ok to practice Yoga as a Christian?

  1. Frank says:

    Great job gaz! The symptoms especially.

    I practised Yoga as a Christian, and had severe headaches often after doing it. Thank God I stopped before anything weird happened.

    The sad thing is, I know a Christian couple (one possibly a deacon, for sure a former deacon) and the wife teaches Yoga! I told him all of this, and forwarded some of my articles to him, only to have him poo-poo the whole thing.

    I don’t see them often anymore, but I will be seeing them soon, hopefully the situation will have changed, especially since she’s pregnant.

  2. Gaz Parker says:

    Frank,

    Show him this video. If he refuses to watch it then that’s a red flag. Is he watches it and denies it then he is in a dangerous position.

    • Frank says:

      I will try my friend.

      Here’s some other info, courtesy of my Hindu neighbor’s Bhagavad Gita, their most revered scripture. In it they explain yoga is a sacrifice as is the breathing control they do. This sacrifice they do, they believe cleanses them from sin and brings them closer to enlightenment.

      So anyone who says it’s just exercise is ill-informed. It appears that Hindus (generally) believe, according to their own scriptures, that doing the yoga and breathing is part of their ritualistic sacrifice to attain “enlightenment”.

      Chpt IV verse 28

      “Having accepted strict vows, some become enlightened by sacrificing their possessions, and others by performing severe austerities, by practicing the yoga of eightfold mysticism, or by studying the Vedas to advance in transcendental knowledge.”

      Verse 29

      “Still others, who are inclined to the process of breath restraint (Pranayama) to remain in trance, practice by offering the movement of the outgoing breath into the incoming, and the incoming breath into the outgoing, and thus at last remain in trance, stopping all breathing. Others, curtailing the eating process, offer the outgoing breath into itself as a sacrifice.”

      Verse 30

      “All these performers who know the meaning of sacrifice become cleansed of sinful reactions, and, having tasted the nectar of the results of sacrifices, they advance toward the supreme eternal atmosphere.”

      • Frank says:

        Well Gaz, I didn’t see my friend, he was busy attending a Sunday school teachers meeting. It’s scary to think about that.

        I did see his wife, she attended the event, but the opportunity to refute her stance on Yoga didn’t come up. I will keep this video in mind and bring it up at more opportune time.

        A curious thing I did notice, I don’t know if she ever had this before, but there did honestly seem to be an impression between her eyes, giving me an impression of a third eye. Being a teacher of Yoga, she may have more exposure to these powers making that possible. Is that a symptom? I have heard it is in regards to qigong.

  3. ballee says:

    I can identify with the depersonalisation aspect of the whole yoga and meditation combo. I was also reading some texts that basically just strip you out of your personality and into a white canvas. Being

  4. Frank says:

    One more, this more or less proves that the poses (asana) and the breathing (pranayama) in “exercise” yoga, are actually a part of Hindu religious practice. They are merely part of a whole, but still a part. The Bhagavad Gita (Hindu holy book) says to practice the “eightfold mysticism yoga” of which the “exercise” is a part.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoga_S%C5%ABtras_of_Pata%C3%B1jali#The_eight_limbs_of_Yoga

  5. Steve says:

    I am so glad to have found your blog – I have subscribed. I am a survivor of the new age and occult, two years saved by Gods grace from that Hell. It is so great to see your blogs and inspiring. After what I have been through with that stuff I hate the occult with a passion. I have a “church”at the moment tryin to convince me to go to their bible studies – not after the book they told me wuld enlighten me (the stressed how it was important to read the book of Enoch). After what the new age did to my life, and how amazing the Lord has been in restoring me from it, I would rather be burned at the stake if I am honest than walk back willingly into that prison. I guess I sound a bit heated about it. I am, it has taken me two years in Christ to be freed from the fear that stuff instilled in me. I am so glad the Lord has shown me that what the new age said to me about Jesus was nothing but lies of the most venemous and toxic sort. Keep up the blogging, it is very encouraging. Good to see someone standing up so boldly for the truth. God bless you.

  6. Monica says:

    Thank you for your writing. I love it!

  7. Maya says:

    Frankly, the East has always been a very spiritual place. All countries Eastern have common underlying principles regarding life, souls, and religion. The Hindu religion is not fanatical. It is a way of life. Yoga is not a stupid relaxing exercise. It is a science. It is a double edged sword. It can heal, it can hurt. People can die if yoga is done incorrectly (only in real extreme cases). But if done right it is medicine. It is life. It is never to be done unsupervised. Because it is a Science. A precise science. There are so many basic rules regarding yoga..like what postures are to be avoided based on physical condition.. Or age.. Or pregnancy..Ancient Hindu Sages thoroughly studied the human physiology, nervous system, energy points, to devise this way of health..and no there is nothing occult about chakras and yoga. Chakras means energy point. These are simply the high energy points in your body. And nirvana is not something you obtain in one lifetime..some dreamy ultimate paradise of enlightenment..that’s just some hippie nonsense.. Karma means deed. It is a weighing scale. Your good deeds and bad deeds must be balanced out to zero. Brahman is a concept that I can explain in terms of Christianity thus. A whole that contains souls. Like, to dust thou shalt return. The one.. The everything. The universe. It is a concept that aims to humble us arrogant humans. To show us that death is a leveller..that after death there is no ego, pride, vanity, anger.. So let these go while you are still alive.. Because beggar and king stand at the same Gate after they die.

    The west is uninformed about Ancient Hindu sciences, or even about the religion in general. To them India means poverty and elephants, and Hinduism is some pagan religion with incense sticks and flowers..and it continues to live with this wrong idea. Yoga is not that weird American idea of standing on a mat with one leg and all that. That is Western nonsense. True yoga is simply that… Medicine..that must be used with utmost caution ..else you’ll have to face the consequences.

    I respect Christianity, but I don’t care which God I worship, Jesus, Krishna, Ram.. Because ultimately, All Gods preach the same: Love, Faith and Devotion. I’m Hindu but I was schooled in a Convent.. Believe me? We were called Marians.. Little girls under the loving hand of the Mother.. And I have had moments. Where she protected me. But so have the other Gods I prayed to!

    Hinduism has been called names.. But it does not care.. It goes on, carrying the message of love. Like all others. We all are children of the same Creator calling each other names. Let’s just live and let live.

  8. Former yogahead says:

    You’re VERY wrong.

    The Hindu concept of chakras is UNSCIENTIFIC. An important concept in science is that those who make the claims have the responsibility to produce sufficient evidence to back-up those claims. Also, claims must be falsifiable–that is that there is a converse to the claim that is sensible. Moreover, EXTRA-ORDINARY CLAIMS REQUIRE EXTRA-ORDINARY EVIDENCE. The concept of chakras violates fundamental principles of medicine and physics. So, if chakras exist, then there is a fundamental error in scientifically based medicine. This means that those claiming that chakras exist are REQUIRED to provide extra-ordinary evidence supporting this extra-ordinary claim. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED The skeptics are NOT required to disprove your claims. Their job is to hold those making claims feet to the fire. CHAKRAS HAVE NOT BEEN SUFFICIENTLY PROVEN, THROUGH ACCEPTED SCIENTIFIC MEANS, TO EXIST. Period. Yogis claim that menstruating women must not do so-called reverse poses, for various ‘health’ reasons. This claim is based on hindu mythology and NOT science. There is absolutely no reason why a menstruating woman shouldn’t do certain exercises, as long as they are safe and appropriate.

    MANY OF THE POSTURES ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO DO AND HAVE NO PHYSICAL BENEFIT WHATSOEVER. MANY ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND SHOULD NEVER EVER BE PERFORMED. Examples: yoga plough, straight arm yoga cobra, headstand, handstand, all so-called reversed poses, any pose where all of your weight is on your hands.

    Yoga is a Hindu religious practice. It is definitely occult.

  9. 1Hope4All says:

    I’m so sorry you went through all that. I’m glad you called upon Jesus and came out of it. And I surely hope you are now Catholic! 🙏🏼❤️

Leave a comment