In response to ‘unity is a false religion’

This is a comment I receive on my post ‘unity is a false religion’.
https://newagedeception.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/unity-church-is-a-false-religion/

I am responding to as a new post as some of the points merit a far more visible platform. This is in response to Josh:

Please note: this is not meant to be an attack on Josh personally, however as he has stepped up and defended unity a clear and honest response is warranted.

This is what Josh wrote:
Source: https://newagedeception.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/unity-church-is-a-false-religion/#comments

“He did not write his own bible. Sorry you feel this way. My question is why put down a group of people if you don’t agree? Live and let live. If its wrong for you than great keep following what you do. If we are in such dis repair than let that be on our shoulders. No need to worry bout us. We do follow christ. We know and have felt Gods love. Positive affirmations about Gods love and what truly matters in life is what we believe. Being spiritual is not a bad thing. Yet so many ‘Christians’ are threatened by it. Why? Unity doesn’t question or hate other religions. If one is at peace with their relationship with God and follow Christ’s teachings than they would love ALL people as they love themselves. Blessings!”

Ok, let break this down.

Point No.1
Josh: “He did not write his own bible”

Gaz: “You are referring to Fillmore, right? I’m haven’t stated that he has however it is evident that he has not only taken away scripture from the bible but also added his own ideals to fit his agenda. Fillmores quote “Jesus the man represents the path toward a higher consciousness” is hardly biblical and evidence of replacing Jesus Christ the saviour with an ideal that fits his needs”.

Josh: “Sorry you feel this way. My question is why put down a group of people if you don’t agree? Live and let live. If its wrong for you than great keep following what you do. If we are in such dis repair than let that be on our shoulders. No need to worry bout us. .”

Gaz: “As much as I respect your views and your God given right to free speech I do not agree with Fillmore and his doctrine of lies. So understand this is in no way a personal attack on those deceived by the lies of Fillmore. I am merely pointing out facts about Fillmore’s attack on Jesus Christ and the Christian faith. Its not a case of ‘worrying’ as many of those in Unity are happy to accept Fillmore’s anti-Christian stance at any cost. My concern is more towards those who have been deceived by Fillmore’s lies into thinking Unity and Christianity are compatible or that Unity is truth above the Bible.”

Josh: “We do follow christ.”

Gaz: “Not the same ‘Christ’ as outlined in the Bible. Fillmore’s christ (with a small ‘c’ is a mere representation of a path towards what he and many eastern mystical religions describe as higher conciousness. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will deceive many Matthew 24:5

Josh: “Positive affirmations about Gods love and what truly matters in life is what we believe.”

Gaz: “This is straight out of Hinduism which Fillmore has undoubtedly styled his religion on. Positive affirmations will not lead you to salvation. ‘Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.’ (Acts 4:12)”

Josh “yet so many ‘Christians’ are threatened by it. Why? Unity doesn’t question or hate other religions. ”

Gaz: “I would actually expand on this, everyone is threatened by false doctrines, not just many Christians. Fillmore despised the teaching’s of God and created his own religion and his own flock which he, even after his death is still leading people astray.”

Josh: “If one is at peace with their relationship with God and follow Christ’s teachings than they would love ALL people as they love themselves. Blessings!”

Gaz: “You statement makes the assumption that we are all capable of following the LAW of God. We are not, we are sinful, we are a fallen race and that’s why God sent his only begotten son to bare the sins of humanity and through his grace save us. Fillmore’s christ is not the same as Jesus Christ the Lord and Savour.”

About Gaz Parker

I was born with the ability to see spirit entities. I learned to ignore them for most of my life but during 2004 I had a kind of spiritual awakening so i thought. For years I questioned it until I asked God to show me what this is. God showed me the truth and I realised these spirits are evil, they are demons. Jesus never left me, he love me and he loves you too. My audio testimony can be found here. Contact me here: newagedeception@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In response to ‘unity is a false religion’

  1. Helen says:

    This is true. The JC of the New Age is just another Ascended Master. People do not really want to change their bad ways and become empathetic to the insane cruelties amongst the world. Good response Gaz

  2. darla says:

    Did Jesus not say in Matthew:9:29–“It is done unto you as you believe.” I suggest you take another look at Unity and the New Testament. You object to “eastern religions.” Well, hate to break it to you, but the Bible is a collection of Middle Eastern documents. Maybe Charles was getting back to the origins of Jesus’ teachings. Just a thought–just asking you to analyze from a different perspective–looking at history from your own can be problematic.

  3. stephenp46 says:

    Gaz , I respect what you are doing here and may I be of help, I too was a member of Unity church and I volunteered to do so since I was seven years old . Growing up in Unity as a youth leader and visionary , I saw what most here may have missed, and I questioned what worked and did not . I later moved on into full scale Newage recruitment and working with every group of alternative Spiritualality so that I have some kind of first hand understanding, from at least my perspective . Lately I am seeing that Unity was used and directed or influenced by another benevolent organizer called the Mesonic Order . I remember my church friends parents being Masons , and some being Rosecrusians too, and if allowed to reflect on the symbolism it all makes deeper sense that these Gnostic Ideas were permitting my California life style from there. The bible is Rich with symbolism and as an artist , I loved to pray and break down these symbols for my self . I had no idea that I was in any danger and felt protected in all my 20 years in Unity , everything was magical , everything worked together for good till I graduated from high school , then I saw other sides of things , after going out on my own , to travel and hitch hike and join other like minded groups across the country I would touch base with other Unity Churches and Unity Friends . Every center like every person was different . Unity was and never could be a church , it was at best a refueling lodge and a place to meet other seekers of truth and distortions . Unity Church , mostly believes in reincarnation as a possible explanation , believes Jesus was and is an advanced truth seeker, believes that most Sin is error only, and that The literal Bible stories are true but there is deeper parabolic meaning to every story that can be an answer to our deepest prayers . Unity believes in affirmation instead of pleading the blood , they are big on no stress , and how your thoughts can make you well. Unity as a group will consider cosmic questions and ideas, yet nobody has to believe any of it. Unity as a body does not acknowledge Satan , or wish to give him any power by doing so . They affirm there is but one power and one presence active in the universe and that is God the Good …..if one is converted and in Christ Jesus before coming to Unity , they may be protected like I believe I was , but lying spirits and fallen angels can take great advantage of so many Nieves ….. Jesus the personal Savior was with me protecting me at all times even then . Unity groups accept Channeled works today , but when I was a lad , they did not… When I was a lad in their Sunday Schools I was given a King James Bible for my good attendance , so they are as a group , not against reading the Bible for your self . There have been many changes . I returned to my Original Sacramento Unity church after many years on the road . During that time I became more complete in My Born Again experience With Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior . I ask the Pastor , why I was taught a gnostic Christianity and not a traditional path to salvation as well , and why Satan was not even explained , he was put on the defensive and thought I was attacking him , but I was not … I felt it was un fair to have been so unequipped for the world and the spiritual wars my friends in Unity had suffered . This forum could help Unity and Christianity by taking a look at these matters.

  4. Nick says:

    I am not a new ager, but I just wanted to comment on one thing you said Gaz : Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.’ (Acts 4:12)” :
    What name are you talking about? Do you know that “Jesus” wasn’t the real name of the Messiah? The fact that you don’t realize that leads me to believe that you’re still a blind follower if the Name you proclaim to be the one that the book of Acts talks about isn’t even the true name of Christ. Arch Angel Gabriel gave Mary the Name Acts talks about, but the great deception began long ago even during the compilation of the Bible. So please be careful because this breaks down your entire argument and creates a doubt in the credibility of your belief.

  5. God said all who call upon Him in the name of The Lord would be saved. He never said it had to be in a certain language. If I was Hebrew I would call upon Him in the name of Yeshua, if Aramic I would say Eashoa’, if Greek Lesous, but since I speak English I say Jesus and He answers my prayers…sometimes yes, sometimes no, sometimes wait upon Him. I prefer not to get caught up in discussions about things that have nothing to do with Eternal Life so enough said about that subject. I recently learned of Unity and it’s feel-good, positive-thinking way of salvation. Satan has used Charles Fillmore as his tool to take people’s eyes off Jesus. Satan is the master of lies and is leading well meaning people down a new age/new thought path which does not lead to God and salvation. God WARNED us to be aware of false prophets and different gospels, which He said were not gospels at all and to have nothing to do with them! If God wanted a gospel as the one Charles Fillmore thought up, He would have given it from the very beginning to the early churches to be passed down to us who seek salvation. God says He changes not and is the same yesterday, today and forever. Charles Fillmore “thought up” his version of the Bible in 1889, saying anything which doesn’t support his new ideas is only allorgories(stories) and don’t mean what they seem but have some sort of a deeper hidden meaning. If that were the case, that would mean God withheld this new thought for all these centuries from us and lied to us about Jesus being the way, the truth and the life, and then suddenly decided to reveal to Charles Fillmore the hidden truth. I believe if Charles Fillmore could speak from his place of torment he would warn all those he has led astray to repent of all he taught them and not to come to the awful place he is in. (based on the scripture of the rich man and Lazarus) I say this as one who believes the Bible message of Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection is the inspired word of God, that there is no salvation outside of Christ and rebirth of the Holy Spirit? All paths do not lead to God. Wide is the way to destruction and narrow the way to eternal life and FEW find it…BECAUSE THE NARROW WAY IS JESUS! Since the day the angel Lucifer fell from heaven and his name changed to Satan for wanting to be above God, until today, it hasn’t changed. Satan has men wanting to be above God, to be his own God, do what he wants, believe what he wants, not wanting him to submit to that narrow way. Guess what…Satan believes in Jesus! He has met Him face to face but it is too late for him. Don’t let it be too late for anyone who reads this who has never acknowledges Jesus as Savior. We will all see him face to face one day also, bow before him and call Him Lord…even those who never called Him Lord on earth will call Him Lord in heaven….but like Satan it will be too late. For Christ’s sake. Love and blessings.

    • Tom says:

      Are you for real? Wow! Very intense.

      • Linda Jolene Garoutte says:

        Tom, if this was meant for me, my answer is yes I am real! There is a reason I am so intense and wish everyone was when it comes to Jesus, for His sake…not mine. He WANTS us to be intense about Him. He DIED for us and the least we can do for Him is to LIVE for Him! I was 43 years old before I knew the SPIRITUAL meaning of much of the Bible, even though I was saved and baptized at age 10. Up until then I had been in several different churches due to marriage and living in different locations. I heard many well-meaning preachers and people giving different explanations of the Bible, which can happen when we just believe what we are taught instead of seeking Truth for ourself. There came a day I wanted to know God’s Truths at all cost and I told Him so! I held up my Bible and asked God to show me…meaning it with my whole heart, but never fully expecting what followed. Wow! The Bible became “alive” to me! God started leading me to scriptures which explained some of my questions. All I can tell you is that the explainations were’t “born” in my mind, but instead were “planted” in my spirit…hope that makes sense to you! There are not MANY different or “new” meanings to God’s word and there are not “MANY” different paths to Him. Men can say and believe differently, but they can NEVER change what God says and He makes it crystal clear that no man can come to Him except through Jesus Christ, the Savior. He also says not to add or take away from the words of His book. He is not a wishy-washy God who changes His mind to please men or situations or because He needs to modernize and change with the times. That would make God a human, instead of Almighty God who created the whole world in six days! He says He changes not and He WOULDN’t give one meaning for some and different meanings for others! There are some differences in every church, but those who are following Jesus as their Savior and believe that the Bible is God-breathed to men, are on the right path to the God of Heaven and Earth. When I asked God to show me Truth at all cost…well the cost was high, but can never be too high. I lost my marriage of almost 31 years because my husband no longer wanted a wife who didn’t believe as he did…even though he admitted he couldn’t prove what he believes by using the Bible. Isn’t that just sad!!?? I pray for his soul. God loves me and takes good care of me. I AM BLESSED!!

  6. Crystal says:

    I am a born again Christian for 40 years now. My son is in his early 20’s and has been involved with new age thought throughout college and is now becoming a Unity Church minister. I have conflicting thoughts about this, as he prayed to receive Jesus at a young age and was brought up in a Christian church. He believes that Unity is compatible with mainstream Christianity. He is a free spirit and honestly I cannot see him ever feeling at home in a conventional Christian church. He is a very spiritual person and probably more devout than most conservative Christians I know, so I really don’t know if Unity is wrong for him. I, myself, am bored out of my mind and feel a lack of love in my conservative Christian Church and he is full of joy all the time. I welcome any opinions.

  7. Linda Jolene Garoutte says:

    Crystal, the Bible says that Satan comes as an angel of light! He is making Unity look somewhat appealing to you and giving you doubts. Don’t fall for it! Unity CANNOT be compatible with mainstream Christianity because they are not Christian! Only people who believe that Jesus is the Christ earn the title to be called a CHRISTian! Unity does not believe the Bible is inspired by God and given to men by Him. Therefore; that leaves them free to change whatever they like to “fit” what they choose to believe. How sad for God! They have left Jesus out as the narrow path to God and taken the broad path, when God says, “There is a way that see a right to a man, but in the end it leads to death!” Unity has taken salvation away from Jesus and placed it on themselves, according to their state of mind. Pray for your son every day! He has been deceived! I urge you to find a more lively Christian church where the Holy Spirit is alive and well so you aren’t bored. Conservative doesn’t have to mean boring, but only should mean that we are standing on the Bible and for Jesus, and that there is no way to the Father except through Him….God says so! And YES!!!!…Unity IS wrong for your son or anyone else!! I wouldn’t want to be in their shoes when they stand before God and He says they can’t enter Heaven because they denied His Son as their Lord and Savior. Their MINDS can’t gain them entrance to Heaven and that will be so sad because they are well-meaning, deceived people. Pray for your son and Unity EVERY day. I do pray for Unity and will add your son. I know your post was awhile back but I just saw it. Hope this helps you. Stand firm and God will reward you! Blessings!

  8. Karen Viera says:

    Unity is a movement and teaches affirmative prayer.We do believe in Jesus.We are not into judging other peoples religions or paths to God.It brings joy and no guilt or shame if you have error in your life.God is truly a spirit inside all of us.It is no part of a cult! I find that for some crazy reason that born again Christians believe that they have a direct line to God…and it is the only way .This is simply not true.Unity says if you come to visit for awhile and you are Catholic or born again or any religion ,we welcome you.If all we can do is help you to be a better Baptist or Methodist,or Muslim,Jew, etc.that is also fine .If you give it about 6 to 8 visits, with an open mind you will experience transformation in a spiritual way.Then if you want to leave and go back to the church of your choice,that is fine also and we well affirm that all is well for you…I have been in The Unity Movement for many years now, and it has gotten me through the worst of times.and with no guilt or shame for any error I have ever faced.It is a mystical Christian movement that has helped so many people.We behold the Christ in all people and envision peace throughout the world!

  9. mary says:

    I feel your writings tell me you are full of hate and condemnation. It tells me where you are at.

Leave a Reply

